About Me | Privacy Statement

Arkansas Ties ... A Little Bit of This, a Little Bit of That, and a Whole Lot of Arkansas

Home     What's New     Site Map     Forums    Gazette     Memorials     Search     Calendar    Advertise













Arkansas American Bicentennial  Memorial

Arkansas State Capitol, Little Rock, Pulaski County, Arkansas

David H. Pryor - Governor

Joe E. Purcell - Lt. Governor

George O. Jernigan Jr. - Secretary of State


Bicentennial Celebration Committee

Joe E. Purcell - Chairman

Joe Neff Basore

Mrs. Elijah Coleman

Judge James E. Hyatt Jr.

Earle W. Johnson

Mrs. Walter F. Tate - Director

Mrs. James Albert Marmouget

William T. Robinson

Mrs. George Rose Smith

Mrs. Robert M. Twyford

Jim Ward Williams


Dr. John L. Ferguson, State Historian

Representative William F. Foster Sr - Legislative Sponsor

William E. Henderson - Director Parks & Tourism

Glenn N. Sink, AIA., Architect

Davis - Pitts & Assocs. Consulting Engineers

Lucas & Assocs.

Joe O. Armbrust, Contractor

A.D. 1976

Dedicated to you, a free citizen in a free land

This reproduction of the Liberty Bell was presented to the people of Arkansas

by direction of the Honorable John W. Snyder, Secretary of the Treasury.

As the inspirational symbol of the United States Savings Bonds Independence Drive from

May 15 to July 4, 1950, it was displayed in every part of this state.


The dimensions and tone are identical with those of the original Liberty Bell when it

rang out our independence in 1776.


In standing before this symbol, you have the opportunity to dedicate yourself, as did our

founding fathers, to the principles of the individual freedom for which our nation stands.


This bell is one of fifty-three cast in France in 1950, and given to the United States

Government by:

American Smelting and Refining Company

Anaconda Copper Refining Company

Kennecott Copper Corporation

Miami Copper Company

Phelps Dodge Corporation

The American Metal Company Limited


Steel supports by U.S. Steel Corporation's American Bridge Company


This plaque donated by Revere Copper and Brass Incorporated.


This time capsule is presented to

The Honorable David H. Pryor

Governor of The State of Arkansas

by Reynolds Metals Company to be opened July 4, 2075.