About Me | Privacy Statement

Arkansas Ties ... A Little Bit of This, a Little Bit of That, and a Whole Lot of Arkansas

Home     What's New     Site Map     Forums    Gazette     Memorials     Search     Calendar    







 County List
































 Hot Spring











 Little River






















 St. Francis









 Van Buren










St. Francis County Court House

Forrest City, St. Francis County, Arkansas

Photographed by Desmond Walls Allen - Arkansas Research

Old Courthouse Bell
This bell rang from the bell tower of the magnificent courthouse that graced this site for seventy-nine years before the present structure was built in 1976. The former courthouse was built in 1897 by Judge John S.R. Cowan of Hughes at a cost of $26,700 with no increase in taxes or bonds. Its fire-proof vaults ended the destruction by fire of the county's records that had occurred three times before.

The bell is mounted on the courthouse lawn in memory of St. Francis County armed services veterans by the ladies of the American Legion Auxiliary and County Judge Carl Cisco.

Auxiliary Officers
President Bettye Proctor
Vice-President Maureen Campbell
Secretary Bonnie Chapman
Treasurer Ruth Thomas
Historian Billie Winkler
Chaplain Troyce Morgan
Seargeant-at-arms Gladys Jones

Bell Committee
Lula Belle Buford, Chairlady
Fannie Fryer
Helen Meeds